September Sangria

september sangria 02

Sometimes you just need a really good drink. By sometimes I mean probably several times a week. I love to try out new specialty drinks at bars, but I also love trying out my own hand at tending bar from home. I’m a big fan of Sangria. Most of the time I really prefer a white sangria, but I was really craving something red, so I whipped up this little concoction.

september sangria 03

I like to pretend that sangria is healthier than other drinks because of all the fruit. That’s definitely true, right? This version is even healthier because it’s made with 100% pomegranate juice which is a good source of potassium. So, drink to your health and enjoy a glass (or two or three) of this delicious red sangria.

 

September Sangria:

ingredients:

1 bottle red wine of your choice

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup brandy

1/2 cup tonic water

1 cup pomegranate juice (I used pom wonderful)

2 lemons

2 oranges

10-12 strawberries (plus more for decoration)

 

instructions:

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan to create a simple syrup. Bring the mixture to a boil and continue cooking until sugar is dissolved. Allow to cool. Combine simple syrup, wine, pomegranate juice, tonic water, and brandy in a pitcher. Take 1/2 of a lemon and 1/2 of an orange and squeeze juice into pitcher. Slice the remaining orange and place in pitcher with sliced strawberries and 1 sliced lemon. Leave 1/2 remaining lemon to slice and use as decoration. Place in refrigerator and allow flavors of the fruit to infuse for at least 4 hours.

Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “September Sangria

I'm Listening! What do you have to say? :)

