Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Frosting

One of my favorite things about fall is the fact that I can embrace my obsession with pumpkin flavored treats! Yes, I am absolutely one of those girls who goes crazy for pumpkin spice lattes every year. When the weather turns chilly and the leaves turn golden I turn into a pumpkin fiend! = )

In honor of fall, I decided to bake some pumpkin spice cupcakes and top them with cinnamon frosting. They are so delicious; the perfect treat for dessert while popping in a scary movie (another one of my fall obsessions)! I’ve shared my recipe below and I hope you will try these delicious cupcakes yourself!

 

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes 3

PUMPKIN SPICE CUPCAKES WITH CINNAMON FROSTING

(Makes One Dozen)

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Oil
  • 1/2 can Pumpkin

Directions:

1. In a small mixing bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice (all dry ingredients except the sugar).

2. In a separate, large bowl mix the sugar and eggs. Add oil and mix at medium speed for a few minutes.

3. Combine flour mixture with eggs and sugar. Then add pumpkin. Mix at medium speed until well blended.

4. Spoon into lined cupcake tin and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes 1

Icing Ingredients:

  • 1 Stick Unsalted Butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 3 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 4 tablespoons Heavy Cream
  • 1 tablespoon Cinnamon

Icing Directions:

1. Let the stick of butter soften outside of the fridge, but do not allow it to melt. I took mine out when I put the cupcakes in to bake and allowed it to sitΒ  while they baked and cooled.

2. Beat the butter and vanilla on medium speed for about 3 minutes, until the mixture is creamy.

3. Sift the powdered sugar, add to mixture one cup at a time, and beat.

4. Add heavy cream and beat.

5. Add cinnamon and beat once more.

 

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes 2

 

I also used molds to create toppings for the cupcakes. I melted dark chocolate chips with cinnamon and placed them in the fridge.

A few notes: you do not have to sift the powdered sugar, but it usually leads to a better consistency. Also, if you do not have pumpkin pie spice you can simply use cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. I like to add the extra cinnamon and nutmeg to make it more “spicy”.

Enjoy!

XO

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Frosting

  1. Pingback: SUNDAY SIX: GOBBLE GOBBLE GOODIES | Dress Dine Dwell

I'm Listening! What do you have to say? :)

