Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

2013_0727kpmwedding0220

Before my sister’s beautiful wedding last month, I attended a bridal shower with all of the bridesmaids, flower girls, and a few other female family members. It was a fun morning with light and fresh food including savory cheesecake bites, a strawberry salsa, and meringues.  There were two tables, both set with simple and elegant decor and pretty gifts for each of the guests.

I was a little worried when our main course arrived and I saw that it included a chilled cantaloupe soup. I wasn’t sure if it was something that I was going to like, but as soon as I took the first bite I realized I was very wrong; it was delicious! It’s a perfect summertime food and it paired amazingly with our salads. I thought that I would share with you the recipe that my mom (the hostess) used.

2013_0727kpmwedding0208

Chilled Cantaloupe Soup with Tarragon Syrup {via Martha Stewart}

(serves 6)

 

1 large ripe cantaloupe (about 4 pounds), seeds and rind removed, cut into chunks, plus thin wedges for garnish

1/4 cup sour cream

2 tablespoons honey, or to taste

4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Pinch of coarse salt

3/4 cup sugar

4 sprigs tarragon

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

  1. Make the soup: Working in 2 batches, puree cantaloupe, sour cream, honey, lemon juice, and salt in a blender until smooth. Press through a fine sieve into a bowl. Refrigerate until cold, about 1 hour.
  2. Make the syrup: Bring sugar and 3/4 cup water to a boil in a saucepan, stirring until sugar has dissolved. Boil until syrup has reduced to 2/3 cup, about 7 minutes. Remove from heat; add tarragon. Transfer to a bowl; refrigerate until cold, 1 hour.
  3. Puree syrup, tarragon, and lemon juice in a blender until smooth. Refrigerate until ready to use; stir just before serving.
  4. Divide soup among bowls. Drizzle with tarragon syrup; garnish with cantaloupe wedges and tarragon sprigs.

 

Enjoy!

 

XO

One thought on “Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

I'm Listening! What do you have to say? :)

